Deleting Data

Deleting data from the Production Exchange server with the DigiScope® Delete feature is equivalent to executing a Hard Delete and may or may not be recoverable with DigiScope® dependent upon your deleted item retention settings.

NOTE: The Delete and Purge data options are very powerful features and therefore great care and consideration should be taken BEFORE executing either function in a Production environment. Test it out thoroughly before using on "live" mailboxes and always do a backup of your data before using Delete Data or Purge Data options.

Follow the steps outlined below to Delete Data from your Production Exchange environment.

  1. After Adding and Connecting to the desired Production source, navigate to the desired items or folder to be deleted in that Production source or execute a Search for the items to be deleted. Select the items or folder to be deleted and right-click on them and select the Delete Item(s) menu option.

    NOTE: You may use DigiScope® to Delete or Purge folders, however, you may not Delete or Purge native / root level mailbox folders, i.e. Inbox, Sent, Calendars or other native folders.

    Delete_Items.png

  2. Next, the Item Deletion Warning prompt will be displayed. Please read the warning carefully. If you agree to the terms and want to continue with the deletion, check the I understand that these items will be deleted... box and click the Yes - Delete button and the items will be deleted.

    NOTE: Clicking the blue text will cause the EULA to open so that you can review sections 16 and 17 of the EULA.

    Delete_Item_Warning.png


Continue to Purging Data